Viltz nominated for Women of Excellence award

Kesha Williams
July 10, 2012

viltz-nominated-for-women The Elizabeth City Area Chamber of Commerce recently welcomed nominations for the 2012 Women of Excellence awards. Dr. Paula Viltz, director of Graduate Education and a professor in the Dr. Helen Marshall Caldwell School of Education and Psychology, was one of 25 local residents nominated for their five awards. Viltz has worked at Elizabeth City State University for the last 10 years but served as director of the Graduate School for the past four years. Viltz applauded the Chamber of Commerce for hosting an event that recognizes women for their contributions to the region. "It is an honor to be recognized among the phenomenal women in northeastern North Carolina for the work that we do in the Office of Graduate education. We are in the business of developing leaders who in turn make a positive impact on our community" Viltz said. "When our graduate students complete their master degrees, they go on to become area principals, Teachers of the Year, research laboratory managers, community college professors, authors, doctoral candidates, and more. Their success is our reward, one student at a time." According to Jennifer Palestrant, president of the Elizabeth City Area Chamber of Commerce, the awards are given to women who excel in various settings. Palestrant said the ages of the nominees span from women who are in their 20s to those in their 70s. "Women make things happen in Elizabeth City. Amazingly they do it while raising children and grand-children, volunteering in churches and in the community, and while standing up for what is right and what is necessary even if it means sacrificing yet another night's sleep," Palestrant said. "This is my experience of all women: whether they work inside the home, or out - or both -we are all hardwired to support and to lead." The 2012 selection committee, made up of the Women of Excellence planning committee and last year's winners, selected the five award winners-- Jean Baker, Beverly Madrin, Jan King Robinson, Denise Rogers, and Charlotte Underwood.

The nominees follow:

  • Jean Baker
  • Heather Blackford
  • Theo Bohn
  • Denise Brothers
  • Kimberly Chalot
  • Dr. Kandi W. Deitemeyer
  • Sandy Duckwall
  • Anne Flowers
  • Lenora Jarvis-Mackey
  • Beverly Madrin
  • Beverly Mercer
  • Althea Riddick
  • Jan King Robinson
  • Denise Rodgers
  • Monica Sandridge
  • Wanda Stiles
  • Juanita Billups Shann
  • on Donna Stewart
  • Margaret Twiford
  • Charlotte Underwood
  • Dr. Paula S. Viltz