Viking student researchers win first and third place awards

Viking student researchers win first and third place awards

Kesha Williams
May 24, 2010


Elizabeth City State University student researchers won first place in the oral and third place in the poster competition at the 3rd Annual Interdisciplinary Research Conference held recently on the campus of Bennett College for Women, Greensboro, N.C.

Tyler Thompson, sophomore biology major, received first-place honors in the judged competition for his oral presentation, "Cold Shock Response in Parasitic Protozoa." This is Thompson's second consecutive year capturing the winners circle in this highly competitive LSAMP sponsored research conference. His research advisors on the project wereDr. Ronald Blackmon; Dr. Gary Harmon, Dr. Margaret Young and Mr. Moses McDaniel. Mr. Thompson was assisted during his presentation by Dr. Hirendranath Banerjee. Winning third place in the poster presentation category was  Sareece Armwood, a senior chemistry major. Armwood's impressive poster, entitled "Traditional Zimbabwe Medicinal Plant Albizia amara Activates Capase- 3" was one of over 30 exhibitions that captured the essence of scientific research at ECSU. She credits her mentor, Dr. Ephraim Gwebu, for much of her success. Armwood's preparation for presentation was coached by Ms. Guana Dixon.

More than 150 undergraduates from seven colleges and universities participated in the conference held on April 12, 2010, at the Henry Pfeiffer Science Center on the Bennett College for Women campus. The annual event showcases students' involvement in research and creative scholarship while enhancing their presentation skills through the competition. The 20 oral and 36 poster presentations involved such wide-ranging topics from "The Differential Effects of Calories vs. Carbohydrates on Prostate Cancer" to "An Analysis of Randomly Generated Numbers."

In addition to Thompson and Armwood, Ms. Alicia Jenkins and Ms. JerNettie Burney also presented. Four faculty/staff members (Dr. H. Banerjee- Biology, Mr. O. Gooden- Aviation, Ms. G. Dixon- Chemistry, and Mr. W. Poole- Summer School) represented ECSU at the two day event. The conference was sponsored by Bennett College for Women and the Virginia-North Carolina Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (VA-NC LSAMP).

Complete lists of the winners are:

Science Oral
1st.    Tyler Thompson (Elizabeth City State University)
2nd.   Prestina Smith (Bennett College for Women)
3rd.    Tonisha Coburn (Bennett College for Women

Science Poster
1st.     Iriscilla Ayala (Virginia Tech)
2nd.   Ian McClenny (University of Virginia)
3rd.    Sareece Armwood (Elizabeth City State University)

For additional information, contact Mr. Warren E. Poole, interim director of ECSU's Office of Summer School, (252) 335-3670,