Teaching Fellows Program institution at ECSU

Marsha McLean
November 09, 2006

The ECSU School of Education and Psychology was recently named a North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program institution, one of only four new institutions accepted this year by the NC Teaching Fellows Commission. ECSU competed along with several other public and private colleges and universities in North Carolina. Dr. Sylvia A Mason, dean of the School of Education and Psychology, attributed ECSU's successful outcome to the "strong proposal" written and submitted in October 2006. As a Teaching Fellow institution, ECSU will receive $26,000 a year from the state that can be allocated in increments of $6,500 for scholarship awards to high school seniors who will major in education at ECSU and agree to teach at least four years in a NC public school. The North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program, established in 1986 by the NC General Assembly, was established to attract high caliber students into the teaching profession. The program will now have 13 public and 5 private institutions. The other new institutions are Campbell University, Lenoir-Rhyne College, and Queens University. The existing institutions are Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elon University, Meredith College, NC A&T University, NC Central University, NC State University, UNC-Asheville, UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC-Charlotte, UNC-Greensboro, UNC-Pembroke, UNC-Wilmington, and Western Carolina University.