Students earn Chancellor's Distinguished Emblem Award

Students earn Chancellor's Distinguished Emblem Award

Kesha Williams
April 17, 2012


Four students earned the Chancellor's Distinguished Emblem Award which is reserved for graduating seniors who have maintained a 3.75 grade point average or higher for six consecutive semesters:

  • Jessica Coates, an Elementary Education major from Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Tomeika Jones, a political science major, from Norfolk, Va.
  • Kristen Cochran, an English major from Camden, N.C.
  • Michael Ross, physics major from Hertford, N.C.

Those awards were announced during the Honors Convocation on April 12 in the Floyd L Robinson Auditorium of the Mickey L. Burnim Fine Arts Center.  Several other students were also recognized at the event including ECSU students now in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges:

  • Amir Boler
  • Dwayne Brooks
  • Valerie Edwards
  • Tiana Ford
  • Kristina A. Jiles
  • Tomeika M. Jones
  • Joshua R. McFadden
  • DeVon J. McNair
  • Heather Smith
  • Antoni'a L. Taylor
  • Brittany Whidbee