Sigma Tau Delta inducts new members at ECSU

Kesha Williams
April 25, 2011


Sigma Tau Delta (Iota Nu Chapter), the International English Honor Society, recently inducted twelve students and three faculty members from the ECSU Department of Language, Literature, and Communication. The names of the honorees and their hometowns follow:

  • Cortney Barnes, a junior from Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Tammy Burley, a junior, Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Kristen Cochran, a junior from Camden, NC)
  • Ebony Etheridge, a junior from Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Tiana Ford, a sophomore from North Brunswick, NJ
  • Colin Griffin, a junior from, Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Princess Harrell, a junior from Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Larry Peterman a junior from Gastonia, N.C.
  • Antonio Squire, a senior from  Garysburg, N.C.
  • Brittnei Teasley, a senior from Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Jerrika Waller, a sophomore from Elizabeth City, N.C.
  • Karen Wilkerson, a senior from Tyner, N.C.
  • Elizabeth Byrne, Ph. D.
  • Vandana Gavaskar, Ph.D.
  • Professor Jenna Miller, M.A.

Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society. A member of the Association of College Honor Societies, it was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.  The society strives to:

  • confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies;
  • provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and promote interest in literature and the English language in surrounding communities;
  • foster all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language, and writing;
  • promote exemplary character and good fellowship among its members;
  • exhibit high standards of academic excellence; and
  • serve society by fostering literacy.

Of the 90 members inducted into the Iota Nu Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta since 2005, 28 students are active members on campus.  Mary Lynn Chambers, a member of the society and a faculty member in the Department of Language, Literature, and Communication, was the speaker for the ceremony.

The chapter's advisors are Ms. Lillie K. Wilson 335-3171 and Mrs. Jeanette W. Morris.