Name Study Group meeting cancelled

Kesha Williams
April 20, 2009

Due to state budget constraints, a Name Study Group meeting originally scheduled for May 8 has been cancelled. During the quarterly meeting (March 2009) of the Elizabeth City State University Board of Trustees, Chairman Walter Davenport announced the formation of a group who would study the advantages and disadvantages of changing the name of the university. That "Naming Study Group" was scheduled to meet on May 8 but the meeting has been cancelled at the order of Chairman Davenport. The committee includes members of the ECSU Board of Trustees, alumni, faculty, staff and the Student Government Association: Committee Chair: Mr. Calvin Worsley (Trustee) Trustees (2): The Rev. Henry Pickett; Mrs. Norma James Faculty (2): Dr. Johnny Houston; Dr. Rebecca Seaman Staff (2): Ms. Jean Bischoff; Ms. Angela Carver Alumni (Local) (1): Mrs. Rhonda Twitty Alumni (External) (2): Ms. Tonya Mizelle; Mr. Anthony Lewis Friends (3): Mr. Joseph Abron (descendent of a university founder); Mr. Stanley Green (Former Chairman of the ECSU Board of Trustees); Captain Christopher E. Austin (USCG) Business community (3): Mr. Jeff Dixon; Mr. Andy Montero; Mr. Maurice Slaughter Faith community (1): Dr. Walter Smith ECSU Foundation (1): Mr. Thomas Evans ECSU Board of Visitors (1): Dr. Jeanette Evans Local government (1): Mrs. Betty Meggs Students (2): President of the Sophomore Class (2009-2010); President of the Junior Class (2009-2010)