MST students compete in Science Bowl

Kesha Williams
February 25, 2013

mst-students-compete-in-s Elizabeth City State University's School of Mathematics, Science and Technology recently hosted its Science Bowl Competition during the Annual Research Week. Five teams representing each of the school's five departments -- Department of Biology and Marine Environmental Science; Department of Chemistry, Geology and Physics; Department of Mathematics and Computer Science; Department of Pharmacy and Health Professions; and the Department of Technology - competed in the Science Bowl. The event provided students with an opportunity to demonstrate their knowledge in the STEM areas -- science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Dean Harry Bass congratulated students on their participation in a very challenging contest. He assured the students that the information they were tested on likely will appear on tests very important to their future. "This experience does not end here. You will see these questions again on the numerous qualifying exams for graduate and professional schools," he said. The atmosphere in the competition room was charged with excitement as department chairpersons, faculty and students sat directly behind the teams representing their field of study. Forty questions from the STEM disciplines were the basis of questions posed to each team. Graduate students Jennifer Van Wyck and Rachel Parker recorded scores as teams raced to produce the answers. Dr. Leon Pringle, adjunct professor of biology, and Dr. Gloria Payne, chair of the Department of Biology and Marine Environmental Science, coordinated the event with the assistance of research operations managers Dr. Jacqueline Poole of the Department of Chemistry, Geology and Physics and Sheryl Bradford of the Department of Biology and Marine Environmental Science. The Chemistry, Geology and Physics team won first place, with team members Quachel Bazile, Winnie Harrell, Ryan Lawrence and Crystal Yelverton each receiving a $100 prize. The Biology and Marine Environmental Science team won second place. Team members Christopher Fightmaster, Khushboo Patel, Budour Mohammed and Tanisha Searles each received a $75 prize. The Pharmaceutical Sciences team members earned $50 each. Pharmaceutical Sciences team members Mili Patel, Amanda Piwowaiski won $50 each. Mathematics and Computer Science team members Kenya Robinson, Torrey Daniel, Tederal R. Burwell and Dwayne Brooks each received $25, along with Technology team members Joshua M. Rhodes, Jeffrey M. Durham, Michael L. Suttan and Erick Lanier. # # #