McNeill voted CIAA Offensive Player of the Year

McNeill voted CIAA Offensive Player of the Year

April Emory
November 17, 2011


Elizabeth City State University junior tailback Daronte McNeill headlines the 2011 All-CIAA Football team as the Offensive Player of the Year as released by the conference office Wednesday.

He is one of nine Vikings voted among the All-CIAA First and Second Teams. Winston-Salem State, ECSU's opponent in last Saturday's CIAA Championship game, had the most honorees with eleven.

McNeill eclipsed 1,000 yards for the second straight season and became ECSU's all-time leading rusher in 2011. He led the CIAA in touchdowns, rushing touchdowns, yards rushing, scoring and scoring touchdowns.

Joining McNeill on the All-CIAA First team are offensive linemen Sanerivi Reupena and Baron Coffin with Anthony Faulcon, who gets the nod at tight end. 

All-CIAA Defensive First Team honors goes to linemen Brad Davis and John Davis along with sophomore cornerback Nigel Rios.

Kevin Swain, who rushed for 587 yards this year, garnered Second Team honors along with junior cornerback Josh Brooks.

The players of the year and all conference teams were recognized at the CIAA Football Championship Luncheon on Friday, November 11, 2011 at the Durham Convention Center. The Vikings closed the regular season with an 8-2 overall and 6-1 CIAA record.

The Vikings fell to the Winston Salem State University Rams in Saturday's CIAA Championship Football game at Durham County Stadium. The loss also snapped the Vikings' eight-game win streak which began after they lost a 22-17 game to the Rams back on September 3rd in Elizabeth City. McNeill and WSSU's Nicholas Cooper, the conference's All-CIAA First Team running backs, were their team's respective MVPs in Saturday's contest. Copper went for 163 yards on 24 carries while McNeill finished with 26 carries for 147 yards.

See for details of the Vikings' next game. For the third time in the university's history, they will play in the NCAA Division II Playoffs!