ECSU students collect awards at Honors Convocation

ECSU students collect awards at Honors Convocation

Kesha Williams
May 03, 2010


ECSU proudly salutes the recipients of over 50 departmental awards. The awards were distributed during the annual Honors Convocation. Three students now hold the chancellor's distinguished Emblem Award: Adrienne Barnett, Jerry Riggs and Myra Russell. The award is reserved for students who have 8 consecutive semesters with a cumulative grade point average that ranges between 3.75 and 4.0. Chancellor Gilchrist applauds all 2010 award recipients and he encourages freshmen to aim now for the awards the upperclassmen won.

"I am extremely proud of the students who excelled this year and won awards at the Honors Convocation. I value this program and the opportunity to recognize so many students for academic accomplishments," Gilchrist said.

"Our freshmen should look at seniors such as the Blazer Scholars as role models. These awards are particularly important for the seniors who are preparing for graduation and for job interviews."

Dr. Velma Blackmon is director of the Honor's Program and is assisted by Ms. Edith Jennings. Dr. Ali Khan, provost and vice chancellor for the Division of Academic Affairs, also congratulates the students for their academic excellence.