ECSU recognizes Teachers of the Year

Kesha Williams
November 14, 2011


ECSU recognizes Teachers of the Year at annual assembly

Elizabeth City State University recently recognized area Teachers of the Year at the annual assembly held in observance of American Education Month. The theme for this year's celebration was "Great Public Schools: A Basic Right and Our Responsibility--As We Inspire Students Locally to Succeed Globally." The teachers recognized and the counties where they work follow:

  • Beaufort County: Ms. Lisa Staats
  • Bertie County: Ms. Sheila Parker
  • Camden County: Ms. Cristie Fields
  • Currituck County: Mr. James Bryson
  • Dare County: Ms. Chavaleh Wetzel
  • Edenton- Chowan County: Ms. Jessica  Balltzglier
  • Edgecombe County: Ms. Susie Davis
  • Gates County: Ms. Lori Lolies
  • Halifax County: Ms. Tammy Hedgepeth
  • Hertford County: Mr. Justin Frederes
  • Hyde County: Ms. Sherri Cox
  • Martin County: Mr. Patrick Herring
  • Nash-Rocky Mount: Ms. Marie Mullins
  • Northampton County: Mr. Monte Freeman
  • Pasquotank County: Ms. Amy Spencer
  • Perquimans County: Mr. Jason Griffin
  • Vance County Ms. Peggie Price
  • Washington County : Ms. Donna Whitfield
  • Warren County: Ms. Cheryl Sebrell

In addition, awards were given to Dr. Jose Gil, recipient of the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, Dr. Ngozi Oriaku, the first runner up for the award; and the ECSU Departmental Teachers of the Year, Dr. Kwabena Boansi (Department of History and Political Science) and Dr. Jinchun Yaun (Department of Chemistry, Geology and Physics).