ECSU hosts 2012 Critical Thinking Through Technology Workshop

Dr. Gloria Payne
June 11, 2012

ecsu-hosts-2012-critical Elizabeth City State University hosted a Critical Thinking Through Technology Workshop May 21-25, 2012 at the Willie and Jacqueline Gilchrist Education and Psychology Complex. This workshop was funded by the U.S. Department of Education under the Minority Science and Engineering Improvement Program (MSEIP). Participants from 11 universities and colleges in North Carolina, West Virginia, Louisiana, Virginia, New York and Missouri actively engaged in discussions, presentations and workshop sessions that focused on 21st century teaching skills, problem-based learning, critical thinking strategies, and Smart classroom training. The workshop activities were structured to build knowledge of critical thinking and to design effective instructional strategies and mentoring opportunities for faculty teaching in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) discipline.

In attendance:
Dr. Kevin Gonzales, Shaw University
Dr. Hanif Talukder, ECSU
Dr. Abdalla Darwish, Dillard University
Dr. Ali Khan, ECSU
Ms. Bernadette Turner, Lincoln University
Dr. Yolanda Anderson, ECSU
Dr. Deva D. Sharma, Shaw University
Dr. Alam Nur-E Kamal, Medgar Evers College
Dr. Gloria Payne, ECSU
Dr. Tesfaye Belay, Bluefield State University
Dr. William Porter, ECSU
Dr. Kenneth Jones, ECSU
Dr. Eyulam Abebe, ECSU
Dr. Xiaohong Zhang, West Virginia State University