ECSU faculty complete quantitative research workshop

Dr. Kuldeep Rawat
November 07, 2012

ecsu-faculty-complete-qua Twenty Elizabeth City State University researchers gathered in Dixon-Patterson Hall for a professional development workshop, "Advanced Excel and SPSS for Quantitative Research and Data Analysis" on Nov. 2. The educators came from many disciplines -- chemistry, technology, business and more -- to learn and to utilize the latest developments in data analysis using the Advanced Excel and Statistical Package for Social Science (SPSS) software. The workshop was funded as part of a professional development phase of a Thurgood Marshall College Fund-Department of Energy grant. The two-year grant project involves establishing a remotely accessible laboratory, digital learning environment through cloud computing and professional development workshop. Dr. Kuldeep Rawat, chair of ECSU's Department of Technology and the principal investigator on the grant, said he looks forward to future similar opportunities for the ECSU faculty and staff. The Advanced Excel and SPSS workshop facilitators were Dr. Vinod Manglik and Dr. Mohammed H. Talukder, professors in the ECSU Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. They introduced the built-in statistical analysis tools available with MS Excel and covered extensive data analysis by linear and logistic regression analysis and provided hands-on examples using SPSS. Highlighting the conclusion of the successful workshop, each participant received a certificate of completion and was lauded by Dr. Ali Khan, ECSU provost and vice chancellor for the ECSU Division of Academic Affairs. Khan congratulated Rawat and the Technology Department for providing the professional development opportunity and encouraged participants to continue their scholarship and to apply their training in their respective research activities. Seated left to right: Debjani Kanjilal, Yan "Emily" Jin, Vandana Gavaskar, Jharna Sengupta, Kuldeep Rawat. Second Row, seated left to right: Jinchun Yuan, Shyamal Das, Guana Dixon, Shanta Armwood-Outlaw, Vinod Manglik, Orestes Gooden. 3rd row, standing: Robin Mangham, Mohammad Hasan, Moayed Daneshyari, Krishna Kulkarni, Anupam Nath, , Josiah Sampson III, Dipendra Sengupta, Ali Khan, Hirendranath Banerjee, Warren Poole, Mohammed Talukder ###