Chamber of Commerce recognizes Women of Excellence

Kesha Williams
June 19, 2015

chamber-of-commerce-recog ECSU Chancellor Stacey Franklin Jones joined 16 area women recognized at Elizabeth City Area Chamber of Commerce's fifth Annual Women of Excellence luncheon. During the June 3 event, held at The Pines, the nominees received roses and certificates in recognition of the outstanding contributions they are making in our community. A 14-member panel of previous award recipients assisted Chamber of Commerce staff in the review of nominees. Kelly Thorsby, president of Elizabeth City Area Chamber of Commerce, said this year's nominees included newcomers to the area as well as those who have lived, worked and volunteered here for years. Thorsby, who hosts a radio show, Chamber Chat, on the university radio station, WRVS-FM 89.9, said she looks forward to spotlighting the wide spectrum of talented women living and working in our region. "It is such a privilege to honor these exceptional women who give so much of themselves to this community. Holding this event annually is one of the many reasons I love my job. I look forward to this each year," said Thorsby. The nominees included: Sabrina Augason, Tara Canny, Sara Demers, Trish Fecker, Chancellor Stacey Franklin Jones, Diana Gardner, Betty Haar-Salvo, Casey Lawrence, Linda Linders, Cheryl Luton, Jessica Lynam, Carolyn Peel, Jennifer Purcell, Louise Umplett Brickhouse, Bobbi White ad Tsoi Wong. The 2015 Women of Excellence awardees are: Diana Gardner, Betty Haar-Salvo, Casey Lawrence, Carolyn Peel and Bobbi White. The event sponsors included Shaklee, independent distributor Gwen Bell and Centurylink