Administrators seek to increase Homegrown Teachers

Kesha Williams
November 05, 2006

administrators-seek-to-in Education administrators recently gathered at Elizabeth City State University to discuss and expand the collaborative relationships between community colleges and ECSU. Special emphasis is being placed on the Homegrown Teachers Program, which is designed to encourage teacher assistants, lateral entry teachers and new education graduates to remain in the state as teachers. Currently, ECSU accepts up to 65 transferable credit hours from students who have graduated from a community college with an associate's degree. ECSU maintains a teacher preparation liaison, LuAnn Riddick, who communicates with representatives at four area community colleges to assist students with transfer process. Seated left to right, Dr. Ralph Soney, president of Roanoke Community College; Dr. Willie Gilchrist, interim chancellor of Elizabeth City State University; Mrs. Lynne Bunch, president of College of The Albemarle; standing left to right: Dr. Ronald Blackmon, ECSU provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs; Dr. Phyllis J. Broughton, dean of Academics & Student Services at Martin Community College; Dr. Sylvia Mason, dean of the ECSU School of Education and Psychology; Dr. Harold Mitchell, interim president for Halifax Community College.